Jay-Z reacts to MTV’s Hottest MCs 2009 List

Image: Roc Nation/MTV News

Image: Roc Nation/MTV News

Shortly after earning the top spot on MTV’s ‘Hottest MCs In The Game’ list, New York Hip Hop giant Sean ‘Jay-Z’ Carter shared his thoughts on the list, both thanking MTV but also questioning their choice.

Artists like Kanye West, 50 Cent, Lil Wayne and relative newcomer Drake were also featured but failed to top Jigga. Whilst appreciative for the recognition, in a recent statement Jay also openly questioned why Detroit rapper Eminem had been overlooked from the list.

The MTV 2009 ‘Hottest MCs’ List panned out as follows:

1. Jay-Z
2. Lil Wayne
3. Drake
4. Kanye West
5. Rick Ross
6. Gucci Mane
7. Young Jeezy
8. Fabolous
9. 50 Cent
10. Raekwon

In his statement Jay wrote: ‘MTV, Thanks for this nod of appreciation. Although I don’t strive to be ‘hot’ for any particular year, I thank you for the acknowledgment. My whole goal is to be recognized as the best ever. I created the term ‘best rapper alive’ as a sign of respect to my fallen comrades (Biggie and Tupac). I believe I’ve allowed a significant grace period, and I believe I would not be respecting myself if being the absolute best was not my goal, and that’s why I continue to push myself until exhaustion … salute.’

He then continued by joking, ‘Sidebar: Kanye moment if I may … Eminem?!?! I think you do the credibility of this list a disservice if you don’t thoroughly explain his omission. As of this second he has the highest selling rap album of the year and a scene stealing verse on the best ‘posse’ cut of the year . (*Hands mic back to Taylor Swift … and nobody was harmed, I apologize in advance.)’

Jay has done his best to make light of the Kanye VMAs situation since the surprise outburst and in typical Jigga fashion attempted to maintain a devil’s advocate approach, displaying a level of maturity that many of his peers are lacking.

MTV then responded to Jay’s comments, explaining that unlike than the other artists who made the list, Eminem has spent the entire season working on his forthcoming Relapse 2 project rather than ‘generat[ing] week-to-week heat with mixtapes, guest appearances, performances and Web activity.’ They also maintained that the list was finalised prior to the release of Drake’s noteworthy Forever that featured Em, Kanye and Lil Wayne.

In related news, according to Soundscan Jay-Z’s latest offering Blueprint 3 finished last week only a couple of thousand units shy of platinum and should certainly be on track for platinum status this week.

4 Comments

  1. jigga totally deserves the number one spot without question. i also agree about em situation. i think em shoulda been number 5..and wheres kid cudi?

  2. hol up a bit though…i think the ppls choice for dis year is drake though…notwithstanding da fact dat jays the best rapper alive

  3. first of all, 50cent and Gucci mane are not suppose to be on that list, just like Eminem… all the others deserve to be on the list… I think Drake is a good rapper, but i wonder what will be of him next year, the second album always tells the longevity of a rappers career…

  4. I aint gonna say who shouldn’t be on here. For the most part the top 4 I agree with (not necessarily in that order). However, There is no way Eminem should be left out of this list. That man is a lyrical genius. Hands down. And thou my man hasn’ t put out much lately (atleast not heard in the MidWest) Jadakiss is a name to mention!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

